Withdrawing, Deleting, and Making Items Private

Withdrawing

On the menu on the right side of the screen

Under Context select Edit this item

Click on Withdraw to remove the item from the collection but not delete it.

Scroll to the bottom of the screen and click withdraw, then click return on the item status screen to complete the action.

When an item is withdrawn, it is possible to retrieve and add back to the collection at a later date. Preferred over deleting

Deleting

 

Click on delete to permanently expunge the item.  It cannot be retrieved.

Scroll down the metadata of the item, making sure this is the item you want to delete

Click Delete to complete the action. Then select return on the Item status screen.

 

Private

From the edit screen click on Make it Private to limit view to the administrator only. 

Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on Make it Private to complete the action. Then click return on the Item status screen

The item will not appear in the browse, search, or resent submission.

 

It can be view by the administrator, by click on Private Items in the Content Administration section on the menu.

This allow you to browse the item that have been made private

To make public again:

Select the item

Select edit this item

 

 

Select make it public to allow it to appear in the collection again.

Scroll down the metadata of the item, making sure this is the item you want to make public

Click Make it public button.

Click return and then the item status screen and it will once again be public.